Presbyterian Medical Center


Novant Health's national certifications recognize our exceptional efforts to provide the safest and highest quality care to our patients.

The Joint Commission Accreditation

Novant Health has been fully accredited by The Joint Commission (TJC). TJC accreditation involves evaluating a healthcare organization's performance in areas that most affect patient health and safety. To maintain and earn accreditation, we participate in extensive onsite reviews by a team of TJC healthcare professionals at least once every three years.

National Stroke Care Certification

Novant Health Presbyterian Medical Center was the first hospital in the region to receive national Stroke Care Certification from The Joint Commission (TJC). The designation is awarded to facilities that demonstrate excellence in healthcare quality and meet the strict national standards set by TJC and the American Stroke Association.

Magnet Nursing designation

The American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) unanimously named all four of Novant Health’s hospitals as Magnet Health Care facilities. This designation applies to Huntersville Medical Center, Matthews Medical Center, Presbyterian Medical Center in Charlotte and Novant Health Charlotte Orthopedic Hospital. Only 5 percent of all hospitals nationwide have earned this designation, which recognizes facilities that provide the highest level of nursing care.

National Accreditation Program for Breast Centers (NAPBC)

Novant Health Breast Center has been granted a 3-year/full accreditation designation by the National Accreditation Program for Breast Centers (NAPBC), a program administered by the American College of Surgeons. Accreditation by the NAPBC is only given to those centers that have voluntarily committed to provide the highest level of quality breast care and that undergo a rigorous evaluation process and review of their performance.

Disease-Specific Care Certification for joint and spine programs

The Joint Commission awarded Disease-Specific Care Certification to Charlotte Orthopedic Hospital for five of its joint and spine programs. The certified disease management programs include hip fracture, hip replacement, knee replacement, laminectomy, and spinal fusion.