Welcome to Novant Health GO

Press releases

Home About us Newsroom Press releases


Article Date:

Novant Health Acute Care and Ambulatory Services Revalidated for HIMSS Stage 7 Status

WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. – Novant Health has been recognized with the prestigious Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society (HIMSS) Stage 7 Electronic Medical Record Adoption Model (EMRAM) and Outpatient Electronic Medical Record Adoption Model (O-EMRAM) awards for 2022. The health system has been consistently recognized by HIMSS for its adoption and use of the electronic health record since 2013. Stage 7 is the highest an organization can achieve for not only establishing strong digital health capabilities through its electronic health record, but also demonstrating that it can apply the technology in a useful and meaningful way.

“We are honored to be part of an elite group awarded HIMSS Stage 7 status for our acute and ambulatory services," said Ryan Neaves, Novant Health vice president of product development. "This high honor recognizes our commitment to our patients by leveraging technology, health operations and analytic capabilities in a purposeful way to positively influence and enhance their outcomes and experience.”

The HIMSS Electronic Medical Record Adoption Model (EMRAM) measures clinical outcomes, patient engagement and clinician use of electronic health record technology to strengthen organizational performance and health outcomes across patient populations. Fewer than 15% of organizations in the U.S. have been successfully validated at Stage 7, which highlights that an organization has improved patient safety, increased patient satisfaction, supported clinicians and secured data through its implementation of the electronic health record.

The Outpatient Electronic Medical Record Adoption Model (O-EMRAM) assesses maturity of electronic health record technology in outpatient facilities and its impact on patients served, overall population health and health system operational efficiency with a focus on quality of care, patient safety and cost reduction. Stage 7 highlights an organization that has a complete electronic medical record, participates in a health information exchange, demonstrates improved patient care and improved population health through data and clinical analytics and has disaster recovery and business continuity plans that are routinely tested.

For more information about HIMSS Analytics, visit www.HIMSSAnalytics.org

Posted on Wednesday, December 14, 2022