Presbyterian Medical Center

Hospital leadership

Caring for the community

The staff and leadership of Novant Health are committed to caring for the community. We don't just focus on the patient, but the entire family.

Novant Health Leadership

Harry L. Smith, Jr., President, Novant Health, Charlotte region
Tom Zweng, MD, Senior Vice President of Medical Affairs
Roland Bibeau, President, Novant Health Matthews Medical Center
Tanya Blackmon, President, Novant Health Huntersville Medical Center
Amy Vance, Chief Operating Officer, Novant Health Presbyterian Medical Center; Chief Nursing Officer, Novant Health, Charlotte region
Mike Riley, President, Novant Health Charlotte Orthopedic Hospital

Board of Trustees


Chair - James R. Palermo, Johnson & Wales University
Chair Elect - Anthony Fox, Parker Poe Adams & Bernstein, LLP 
Past Chair - Vi Lyles, The Charlotte Mecklenburg Ten Year Plan
Secretary - Arthur J. Gallagher, Johnson & Wales University
Treasurer - William Poston, MD, Presbyterian Pathology Group 


Bruce D. Jones, Community Bank of Rowan
Lee Myers, Myers Law Firm
G. Patrick Phillips, Bank of America (Retired)
Deborah M. Ally, United Way of Gaston County
Dan R. Williams, Farmers & Merchants Bank

Ex-Officio, Voting Trustees

Harry L. Smith, Jr., President, Novant Health, Charlotte region
Sidney M. Fletcher, MD, FACEP, Chief of Staff, Mid Atlantic Emergency Medical Associates
Stuart Garner, MD, Assistant Chief of Staff, Presbyterian Pulmonary & Critical Care

Ex-Officio, Non-Voting Trustee

Carl Armato, President & CEO, Novant Health